Skip to Main Content


  • White Group publishes paper on microscale electrical sensors

    Super sensors at the micromolecular scale.
    In this report the group combined the spatiotemporal resolution of microelectrodes and the chemical specificity of folding aptamer-based recognition to create sensors with improved sensitivities...
    Posted: October 24, 2014 3:01 PM
  • Danielle Schmitt wins ASCB Travel Award

    Graduate student Danielle Schmitt has won a travel grant from the American Society of Cell Biology to attend their National Meeting in Philadelphia this December. Danielle will be presenting her...
    Posted: October 13, 2014 11:10 AM
  • Dr. Singh elected Fellow of the Royal Society of Chemistry

    Dr. Narsingh Singh has been elected as a Fellow to the Royal Society of Chemistry of the UK for his multidisciplinary work in Chemistry and materials. The backbone of the Society is its...
    Posted: September 30, 2014 5:06 PM
  • Abstract Submissions for Undergrad Symposium Due Sept. 25th

    Submit your undergraduate research
    This Symposium seeks to display the diverse array of student-committed endeavors and foster the communication of their relevant novel results and concepts. The event exclusively features...
    Posted: September 16, 2014 10:58 AM
  • UMBC / Army Research Lab Participate in Nanotech Education

    Community College Students Benefit
    A new University of Maryland Baltimore College Department of Chemistry program is teaming with Army and other area universities to offer college students in pursuit of associate degrees...
    Posted: June 17, 2014 11:55 AM
  • White Group Publishes Sensor Development in Analytical Chem

    Monitoring Charge Flux to Quantify Ion Channel Activity
    The White Group has published a new paper on bio-inspired sensor development in the Journal "Analytical Chemistry". The group was monitoring charge flux to quantify unusual ligand-induced ion...
    Posted: May 9, 2014 2:46 PM
  • Florika Macazo awarded prestigious Jessica Soto-Perez Award

    The Jessica Soto-Perez Memorial Award honors a graduate student who not only excels in his/her program, but also inspires and supports fellow graduate students. The 2014 recipient of the Jessica...
    Posted: April 23, 2014 10:25 AM
  • Justine Johnson Wins Regents Award

    Justine Johnson, Justine Johnson Associate Director of the Meyerhoff Graduate Program has been awarded the 2013-14 Jakubik Family Endowment Award. The Jakubik award recognizes staff members that...
    Posted: April 2, 2014 3:26 PM
  • Dr. Karpel awarded Fulbright-Brazil Distinguished Chair

    Dr. Rich Karpel has been awarded a Fulbright-Brazil Scientific Mobility Program Distinguished Chair.  This is a research/teaching award, 4 months total, and he will be researching and teaching in...
    Posted: March 31, 2014 3:10 PM
  • International Interns join the Department

    Please welcome our new international interns Solene Avrillaud, Lorna Bergeon, and Pierre Chabernaud. They will conduct research in the department for the next three months. Solene will be hosted...
    Posted: March 31, 2014 1:19 PM